This website uses cookies to store information such as which page you last viewed and whether you are logged in as an administrator. No personally identifiable information is stored. Please give your consent by clicking OK.


The Wider Context

The wider Thames Gateway is a large and diverse area stretching north of the Thames from Canary Wharf to Southend, and south of the Thames from Deptford to the Medway and Swale.  It includes parts of nine boroughs in east London, as well as all or part of five local authority areas in South Essex and the four authorities of North Kent.  The 'Outer Gateway' (North Kent and South Essex) alone is home to 1.5 million people and a workforce of over 520,000. 

Transformation of the Thames Gateway has been underway since the 1990s - earlier if you include the Isle of Dogs - and is recognised as a long term programme of unrivalled economic potential and opportunity.

Thames Gateway Kent lies within the boundaries of the County of Kent and covers the North Kent boroughs of Dartford, Gravesham and Swale and the unitary authority of Medway.

At a wider scale, Thames Gateway Kent also forms part of the South East Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) area which covers the counties of Kent, Essex and East Sussex, together with the unitary authorities of Medway, Thurrock and Southend-on-Sea.  Click here to find out more about the South East LEP.